2018 NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition

From 5 February 2018 the National Gallery of Victoria invites The NGV invites architect-led teams, to participate in the National Gallery of Victoria Architecture Commission Design Competition.

Competitors are invited to activate the Grollo Equiset Garden at NGV International garden with an engaging temporary structure or installation. Design proposals can be many things including a venue for hospitality, a performance space, a work of speculative architecture, a landscape intervention, a place designed for playful interaction, or an immersive space for reflection.

While titled an architecture commission, it is an important ambition of this annual site-specific commission that it offers the opportunity for architecture to be enacted in the broadest sense. To this end the Gallery specifically invites design proposals that promote collaboration and multi-disciplinary thinking. Proposals should demonstrate the capacity of design to actively engage the community.

The NGV garden is a unique cultural and civic space in the heart of Melbourne, yet it is also a sculpture garden built on a roof deck structure, and as such presents a particular set of challenges – spatially and technically. As such the commission is expected to deliver a compelling response to the site while also utilising low impact design and construction methodologies that intelligently respond to the site condition.

The Competition will be held in two stages. An anonymous Stage One calls for high level design proposals, of which up to five will be chosen to proceed to a paid Stage Two. These five shortlisted submissions will be further developed and refined in Stage Two, for presentation to the competition jury. The jury will select a winner, who will be commissioned by the NGV to complete the design development and delivery of the 2018 NGV Architecture Commission.

“Architecture increasingly displays a curiosity to explore new thresholds of practice, knowledge, skills and engagement. This NGV Architecture Commission Competition creates opportunities to realise works of architecture that enable good ideas to become a reality, and through doing so, to create new ways for architecture to engage with people, crafting opportunities for broad audiences to experience first hand the ideas of architecture as something with which they can interact, participate, examine, communicate, think and feel” Ewan McEoin, Senior Curator Contemporary Design and Architecture

Led by the Department of Contemporary Design and Architecture, the NGV Architecture Commission has previously been designed by John Wardle Architects (2015), M@ STUDIO Architects (2016), Retallack Thompson and Other Architects (2017).

2018 NGV Architecture Commission Jury

Corbett Lyon – Co-founder Lyons Architecture, Visiting Professor at MSD, NGV Trustee (Chair of Jury)

Andrew Clark – Deputy Director, NGV (VIC)

Eugenia Lim – Artist, Board Member at Next Wave, Founding Editor of Assemble Papers (VIC)

Isabelle Toland – Director Aileen Sage Architects, Co-Curator The Pool, 2016 Venice Biennale of Architecture (NSW)

Stefan Preuss – Associate Victorian Government Architect, OVGA (VIC)

Lisa Byrne – Director McClelland Sculpture Park and Gallery

The NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition process is developed and delivered by CityLab.
The 2018 NGV Architecture Commission Supported by RMIT University and The Hugh D.T. Williamson Foundation.

From 73 entries received, the five shortlisted teams are:

  • FMD Architects, Future Days and Nikos Papastergiadis
  • Lance van Maanen and LLawella Lewis
  • Michael Mckeon and Wesley Perrott
  • MUIR Architecture with Openwork
  • SJB

Previous NGV Architecture Commission Winners

2015 NGV Architecture Commission
2016 NGV Architecture Commission
2017 NGV Architecture Commission