Installation view of <em>The table is the base</em>, 2018<br/>
Hecker Guthrie design studio<br/>
Australia est. 2008<br/>
On display in the Rigg Design Prize 2018 at The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia from 12 October – 24 February 2019<br/>
Photo: Shannon McGrath<br/>
back to Media Releases
Installation view of The table is the base, 2018
Hecker Guthrie design studio
Media Release • 17 Oct 18

Melbourne-based design practice Hecker Guthrie awarded the Rigg Design Prize 2018

11 October 2018: Melbourne design practice Hecker Guthrie has been awarded the prestigious Rigg Design Prize, the highest accolade for Australian contemporary design.
The $30,000 triennial prize was announced at the opening of the National Gallery of Victoria’s Rigg Design Prize 2018 exhibition, which features bespoke, purpose-built interior rooms by ten shortlisted Australian interior designers. It is the first major presentation of contemporary interior design in the NGV’s history.

Creating a custom-made room in response to the theme of ‘domestic living’, lead designers Paul Hecker and Hamish Guthrie created an interior, The table is the base, which celebrates the table as a modest yet powerful object, often pulling and binding people together as they gather around it. By playing with the form and scale of the table, the installation prompts the spectator to question their relationship to and the aesthetics of the object.

Shashi Caan, International Judge of the Rigg Design Prize 2018 said: ‘Using only two elements – the simple form of the Parsons table and terracotta as material – the Hecker Guthrie project demonstrates the power of design restraint and curiosity at play. A testament to the potential and capacity of design, this project inherently addresses our societal need for smaller footprints for today’s responsibly designed domestic space.’

The ten Australian interior designers that were shortlisted for the Rigg Design Prize 2018 are: Amber Road, Arent & Pyke, Danielle Brustman, David Hicks, Flack Studio, Hecker Guthrie, Martyn Thompson Studio, Richards Stanisich, Scott Weston Architecture Design and The Society Inc by Sibella Court.
Tony Ellwood AM, Director, NGV said, ‘The Rigg Design Prize 2018 recognises the central role that interior design plays in our lives and reflects the NGV’s commitment to elevating the cultural value of contemporary design in Australia. The participants concepts are thoughtful reflections of interior spaces and their ability to shift perceptions and tell personal stories of place and identity.’

The Rigg Design Prize 2018 is generously supported by the Cicely and Colin Rigg Bequest, managed by Equity Trustees. The exhibition is FREE and on display from 12 October 2018 – 24 February 2019 at the Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia at Federation Square. Additional information is available from the NGV website: NGV.MELBOURNE

The Rigg Design Prize takes place every three years at NGV Australia.

The Rigg Design Prize is a generous legacy of the late Colin Rigg (1895−1982), a former Secretary of the NGV’s Felton Bequests’ Committee, and is awarded to an Australian contemporary designer displaying outstanding creative achievements in design.

Formerly the Cicely and Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award, the invitational prize was established in 1994 to recognise contemporary design practice in Victoria.
In 2015, for the first time in the Award’s twenty-year history, the revitalised Rigg Design Prize included shortlisted designers from across the country in response to Australia’s burgeoning design culture. A reflection of the NGV’s commitment to contemporary design, the Rigg Design Prize is unparalleled in its ambition to champion the cultural value of contemporary design in Australia.

Past award recipients of the prize include: Neville Assad (1994), Robert Baines (1997), Louise Weaver (2003), Sally Marsland (2006), Simone LeAmon (2009), Marian Hosking (2012) and Adam Goodrum (2015).

Download media release