The 2016 NGV Architecture Commission, M@STUDIO Architects <em>Haven’t you always wanted...?</em><br/>
© M@ STUDIO Architects<br/>
Photo: Peter Bennetts<br/>
back to Media Releases
The 2016 NGV Architecture Commission, M@STUDIO Architects Haven’t you always wanted...?
© M@ STUDIO Architects
Media Release • 23 Jan 17

NGV announces 2017 NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition

From 25 January 2017 the National Gallery of Victoria invites all registered architects within Australia to participate in the 2017 NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition.

The NGV Architecture Commission calls for innovative proposals for the activation of the Grollo Equiset Garden, one of Melbourne’s great civic spaces, through the intervention of a participatory, evocative and thought-provoking work of site-specific, temporary architecture.

For 2017, competitors are encouraged to explore and reveal progressive thinking and approaches to activation and audience engagement; materials and systems; manufacturing and fabrication; technology; sustainability; and cultural resonance. While all teams must be led by an architect registered in Australia, competitors are encouraged to collaborate with other cultural, creative and industry professionals, both within Australia and beyond, and to engage with the dynamic global forces that are shaping the world around us.

The Competition will be held in two stages. An anonymous Stage One calls for high level design proposals, of which up to five will be chosen to proceed to a paid Stage Two. These five shortlisted submissions will be further developed and refined in Stage Two, for presentation to the competition jury. The jury will select a winner, who will be commissioned by the NGV to complete the design development and delivery of the 2017 NGV Architecture Commission.

Led by the Department of Contemporary Design and Architecture, the NGV Architecture Commission has previously been designed by John Wardle Architects (2015) and M@ STUDIO Architects (2016).

The NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition process is developed and delivered by CityLab.

2017 NGV Architecture Commission Jury
Jill Garner, Government Architect (Chair)
Corbett Lyon, Architect and National Gallery of Victoria Trustee
Ewan McEoin, Curator of Contemporary Design and Architecture, National Gallery of Victoria
Amy Muir, Architect and AIA Victorian Chapter Councillor
Naomi Stead, Academic, scholar and critic
SueAnne Ware, Educator, academic and critic

Competition registration period 25 January–6 March 2017
Stage One period 1 February–13 March 2017
Shortlist announced March 2017 during Melbourne Design Week (16–26 March 2017)

To register for the 2017 NGV Architecture Commission Design Competition or for further information visit