Jorja Kavellaris, <em>Alexia</em>, 2023, graphite on paper, coloured fibre-tipped pens, coloured pastels, 45.0 x 35.0 cm, Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak, Wurundjeri Country © Jorja Kavellaris

Top Arts 2024

The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia, Fed Square

Ground Level, NGV Design Studio

14 Mar 24 – 14 Jul 24

For three decades, this much-loved annual exhibition has provided a platform for the next generation of artists across the state to showcase their talent, passion and ingenuity. Top Arts 2024 features the most exceptional work from students who completed the new VCE study designs of Art Making and Exhibiting and Art Creative Practice in 2023. The exhibition promises a fascinating survey of the curious, creative and innovative spirit of young artists.

Annotated Folios

Shortlisted Students

The work of the following students was shortlisted by the selection panel but not chosen in the final selection for the exhibition.


Maria Abblitt
Notre Dame College, Shepparton

Rachel Adam
Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar, Ivanhoe

Nathan Alder
Bass Coast College, Wonthaggi

Amelie Ashley
Belmont High School- Belmont

Tiffany Boustead
St Leonards College, Brighton East

William Brown
Mill Park Secondary College, Epping

Leah Brutovic
Gippsland Grammar, Sale

Hayley Connor
Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar, Ivanhoe

Lottie Davitt
Princes Hill Secondary College, Carlton North

Natasha Di Nicolantonio
Mornington Secondary College, Mornington

Elodie Dillon
Melbourne Girls’ College, Richmond

Gabriella Disspain
Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School, Southbank

Felicity Donaghey
Diamond Valley College, Diamond Creek

Mietta Edwards
Firbank Grammar School, Brighton

Katherine Flannigan
Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak

Ashley Foot
St Helena Secondary College, Eltham North

Martin Fraser
Victory Lutheran College, West Wodonga

Kira-lee Goodes
Portland Secondary College, Portland

Genevieve Harris
Ivanhoe Girls’ Grammar, Ivanhoe

Molly Hassett
Star of the Sea College, Brighton

Terence Lin
Haileybury College, Keysborough

Ethan Lin
Caulfield Grammar School, Wheelers Hill

Leo Loscher
Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School, Southbank

Ebru March
Fintona Girls’ School, Balwyn

Esther Mathers
Kardinia International College, Geelong

Skye McBain
Ballarat and Queens Anglican Grammar School, Ballarat

Peta Milne
Melbourne Girls College, Richmond

Elena Mitrevska
Keysborough Secondary College, Keysborough

Matty Mrksa
University High School, Parkville

Rakeb Mulatu
Heathdale Christian College, Werribee

William Murphy
Newhaven College, Phillip Island

Jade Navarro
John Paul College, Frankston

Sienna Novak
Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School, Southbank

Estela Pintos-Lopez
Wurun Senior Campus, Fitzroy North

Vienna Sumper
Catholic Ladies College, Eltham

April Shimura
Cathedral College Wangaratta, Wangaratta

Berry Shnider
Mount Scopus Memorial College, Burwood

Willow Sweeney Johnston
Caulfield Grammar School, St Kilda East

Amira Tabit
Northcote High School, Northcote

Shekinah Teo
Melton Secondary College, Melton

Jenny Tha Chin Par
Ringwood Secondary College, Ringwood

Alanna Tran
St Monica’s College, Epping

Emma Tweedie
Firbank Grammer School, Brighton

Chloe Whiter
Caulfield Grammar School, St Kilda East

Jade Wilson
Clonard Collage, Geelong

Kunjie Wu
Camberwell Grammar School, Canterbury

Michael Xu
Melbourne High School, South Yarra

Emma Zagame
Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak


Top Arts Awards 2024

With thanks to Major Partners Officeworks and Deakin University, the Top Arts Awards recognise the talent and ingenuity of young artists and make an impact towards their future.

The winner of the Officeworks Creativity Award and the winners of the Deakin University People’s Choice Awards were announced at an awards ceremony at the Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia on Thursday 11 July 2024.


Creativity Award

The Creativity Award presented by Major Partner Officeworks is a prize awarded for the most creative use of materials within an artist’s work. The winner receives an Officeworks gift card valued at $1500, and peer recognition among students, teachers and the NGV community.

NGV Curators provide Officeworks with a shortlist of Top Arts works that best respond to the criteria, from which Officeworks will determine the ultimate winner.


2024 Creativity Award Winner
Maya Donaldson
Wurun Senior Campus, North Fitzroy

People’s Choice Award

The People’s Choice Award presented by Major Partner Deakin University is an annual prize that recognises the three most popular works in Top Arts. The winners of the People’s Choice Award receive peer recognition among students, teachers and the NGV community, in addition to the below prizes.

The first prize winner receives a cash prize valued at $1500.

The second prize winner receives a cash prize valued at $1000.

The third prize winner receives a cash prize of $750, plus a 12 month NGV Membership.

Multimedia screens are positioned in the Top Arts 2024 exhibition space for visitors to vote for their favourite work.


2024 People’s Choice Award, 1st Prize
Chana Pesha Faigenbaum
Beth Rivkah Ladies College, East St Kilda