NGV TEMPORARY CLOSURE

From our team here at NGV, we’re sending our best wishes to our community during this challenging time.

Following the latest public health directions from the Victorian Government, the NGV is temporarily closed to the public.

We encourage you to visit our website and follow our social media for updates.

We are grateful for the loyalty and understanding of the NGV community and hope to welcome you back soon.

Melbourne Design Week

Blocks

Presented by James Walsh and Saint Francis Place

Sorry you missed this one!
Free entry
63 Smith St,
Fitzroy

EXHIBITION TIMES: 12–22 MAR, MON–FRI, 10AM–6PM, SAT 10AM–5PM & SUN, 11AM–5PM
CLOSING PARTY: SUN 22 MAR, 6–8PM
Designer James Walsh, gives new life to an age old process with the assistance of modern techniques in the precision manufacture of Terracotta objects.

Presenting a family of vessels, Walsh highlights how a range of plaster moulds can be combined into countless configurations to demonstrate the potential of slipcasting. With the influence of 3D printing in the production of the moulds, each terracotta object demonstrates subtle references to contemporary technology that is only noticeable in the finer details. This juxtaposition of old and new demonstrates that we can still look to the past to inform the future.

Instagram @jameswalsh.studios
Organiser’s website www.jameswalsh.studios
Website saintfrancisplace.com.au

Thu 12 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Fri 13 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Sat 14 Mar, 10am–5pm (Past)

Sun 15 Mar, 11am–5pm (Past)

Mon 16 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Tue 17 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Wed 18 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Thu 19 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Fri 20 Mar, 10am–6pm (Past)

Sat 21 Mar, 10am–5pm (Past)

Sun 22 Mar, 6–8pm (Past)

Free entry
63 Smith St,
Fitzroy

You might also like