Rigg Design Prize 2018

Free entry

NGV Australia, Federation Square

Level 3, Contemporary Art & Design

12 Oct 18 – 24 Feb 19


Recognising excellence in Australian design, the Rigg Design Prize is the highest accolade for contemporary design in Australia. The triennial prize is awarded to an Australian design practice displaying outstanding creative achievements in contemporary design.

The shortlist for the Rigg Design Prize 2018 includes ten Australian design studios working in the field of interior design and decoration. For the prize exhibition, each studio has been invited to design a purpose built interior that responds to the 2018 exhibition theme of Domestic Living. The NGV is asking each design studio to produce an interior capable of communicating to audiences how designers create interiors as forms of communication embedded with values, ideas and stories that directly engage with the cultural, historical, material and technological aspects of society.

The recipient of the Rigg Design Prize 2018 is to be decided by an international judge based on the overall quality of presentation and interpretation of the theme; clarity and originality of the design idea; and, creative expression. The winner will be announced to the public on 12 October.

The Rigg Design Prize 2018 shortlist includes: Amber Road (NSW), Arent & Pyke (NSW), Danielle Brustman (VIC), David Flack (VIC), David Hicks (VIC), Hecker Guthrie (VIC), Martyn Thompson Studio (NYC), Scott Weston Architecture Design (NSW), The Society Inc by Sibella Court (NSW), SJB Interiors (VIC/NSW)

The Rigg Design Prize is generously supported by the Cecily and Colin Rigg Bequest.