Sorry you missed this one!

Creating the Contemporary Chair
Presented by NGV

NGV International

Free entry

Creating the Contemporary Chair presents arresting and provocative chair designs by some of the most interesting Australian and international designers practising in recent decades. Comprising thirty-five new acquisitions supported by Gordon Moffatt AM, this exhibition explores the significance of chairs as markers of design evolution and as objects embedded with meaning, expression, experimentation and utility. Works on display range in date from 1980 to 2016 and include examples of both mass-produced and studio-created chairs sourced from around the globe. 

Two years in development, Creating the Contemporary Chair explores the allure of the chair and its enduring hold over the designer. Offering fresh perspectives on chairs designed in our time the exhibition features works by Tord Boontje, Jacopo Foggini, Konstantin Grcic, gt2p, Porky Hefer, Helen Kontouris, Ross Lovegrove, Christien Meindertsma, Patricia Urquiola, Jólan van der Wiel and Oskar Zieta to name a few.

Fri 17 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Sat 18 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Sun 19 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Mon 20 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Tue 21 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Wed 22 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Thu 23 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Fri 24 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Sat 25 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

Sun 26 Mar, 10am (Past)

Opening hours: 10-5pm

NGV International
Contemporary Art & Design

Hours and location

Subscribe for Design updates