Simone LeAmon<br/>
born Australia 1971<br/>
<em>Lepidoptera, chair</em> 2009<br/>
stainless steel, foam, polyester<br/>
110.0 x 130.0 x 120.0 cm<br/>
Collection of the artist, Melbourne<br/>
© Simone LeAmon

2009 Cicely and Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award

Free entry

The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia, Fed Square

12 Mar 09 – 30 Aug 09

The Cicely and Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award is a generous legacy of the late Colin Rigg (1895 – 1982), a former Trustee and Secretary of the Felton Bequest Committee for the National Gallery of Victoria. The Cicely and Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award was established to support Victorian artists. With a prize of $30,000, it is arguably the most prestigious award of its kind in Australia and is a reflection of the NGV’s ongoing commitment to contemporary craft and design practice.

The exhibitions associated with the Award have each been devoted to a particular design discipline. Previous exhibitions have showcased metalwork, ceramics, textiles, and jewellery. In 2009 the focus is on seat furniture design.

With their ultimate origins in the Great Exhibitions of the 19th Century, design awards remain important today. By inviting self-reflection and self-critique, these awards allow designers to pause and take stock of current practice and identify for themselves outstanding achievements in their field.

The works on display are informed by a broad range of social, environmental, material, and aesthetic concerns. Some designers evidence an interest in environmental issues through the use of recycled and sustainable materials, and efficient transportation and storage through flat-packing or collapsibility. Other designers have produced seats with multiple configurations or that accommodate multiple sitters, reflecting an interest in the way furniture can shape people’s interactions with one another and the spaces they inhabit. Elegant simplicity remains a central concern for some while others explore the possibilities inherent in innovative materials.

Every work included in this exhibition embodies the potential to become a ‘design classic’ of the future.

Select Works

Lambie Chan
born Hong Kong 1982, arrived Australia 2001
Ribbon, bench 2007
(1–2) 55.0 x 199.0 x 97.5 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Lambie Chan
Lucas Chirnside
born New Zealand 1976, arrived Australia 1990
Polytopia, seating 2005-09
fibreglass, polypropylene, (prototype)
(1-8) 120.0 x 120.0 x 120.0 cm (overall) (closed)
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Lucas Chirnside
Map International, Melbourne (manufacturer)
est. c.1987
Chris Connell (designer)
born Australia 1955
Flow, lounge 2008
59.3 x 239.0 x 94.0 cm
Collection of Map International, Melbourne
© Chris Connell
Box and Dice, Sydney
est. 1988
Adam Cornish
born Australia 1981
Flex hammock 2008
plywood, stainless steel cable, rubber
20.0 x 216.0 x 100.0 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Adam Cornish
Schiavello, Melbourne (manufacturer)
est. 1966
Oliver Field
born Australia 1982
Hedge, lounge and table 2005
metal, polyurethane, wool, steel
(1-2) 63.0 x 190.0 x 55.0 cm (overall)
Collection of Schiavello, Melbourne
© Oliver Field
Matthew Harding
born Australia 1964
Poise, chair 2007
plywood, nylon
77.0 x 62.5 x 65.5 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Matthew Harding
Cathy Jankowsky
born Australia 1973
George Jr, chair 2007
110.0 x 75.0 x 75.0 cm
Private collection, Melbourne
© Cathy Jankowsky
Joseph Keenan
born New Zealand 1972, arrived Australia 1990
Vertibral, seating 2005
Tasmanian oak (Eucalyptus delegatensis/Eucalyptus regnans/Eucalyptus obliqua), stainless steel
(1-4) 65.0 x 45.0 x 45.0 cm (each)
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Joseph Keenan
Schiavello, Melbourne (manufacturer)
est. 1966
Helen Kontouris, born Australia 1976
101 chair 2006
fibreglass, wool, felt
82.0 x 87.5 x 76.5 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Helen Kontouris
Simone LeAmon
born Australia 1971
Lepidoptera, chair 2009
stainless steel, foam, polyester
110.0 x 130.0 x 120.0 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Simone LeAmon
Rock Martin, Melbourne (manufacturer), est. 2005
Drew Martin,born Australia 1974
Dale Rock, born Canada 1967, arrived in Australia 1980
Blanket chair 2007
powder-coated steel, plastic
85.0 x 55.0 x 55.0 cm
Collection of Rock Martin, Melbourne
© Rock Martin
Stuart McFarlane
born Australia 1975
Lapel, chair 2008
81.2 x 49.0 x 50.0 cm
Collection of Stuart McFarlane Industrial Design, Melbourne
© Stuart McFarlane
Ross McLeod
born Australia 1960
Frequency, lounge 2008
plywood, steel, polyurethane, upholstery
71.0 x 200.0 x 60.0 cm
Collection of the artist, Melbourne
© Ross McLeod