back to Media Releases
Media Release • 10 Sep 18

Rigg Design Prize 2018

12 October 2018 – 24 February 2019 | The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia | FREE

In the first major presentation of contemporary interior design in the NGV’s history, the Rigg Design Prize 2018 brings together ten leading Australian interior designers and decorators to each create a purpose-built room within the gallery.

The ten shortlisted designers for the $30,000 triennial prize are: Amber Road, Arent & Pyke, Danielle Brustman, David Flack, David Hicks, Hecker Guthrie, Martyn Thompson
Studio, Richards Stanisich, Scott Weston Architecture Design and The Society Inc by Sibella Court.

The entrants have responded to this year’s theme of Domestic Living and, through their creations, have highlighted the importance of interior design in shaping and influencing the way we live today.

The winner will be judged on their philosophy and design expertise formed in relation to interior architecture, decoration and the use of materials, processes, tools, methods,
traditions and aesthetics.

Tony Ellwood AM, Director, NGV said, ‘The Rigg Design Prize 2018 recognises the central role that interior design plays in our lives and reflects the NGV’s commitment to
elevating the cultural value of contemporary design in Australia. The participants concepts are thoughtful reflections of interior spaces and their ability to shift perceptions and tell personal stories of place and identity.’

The Rigg Design Prize 2018 is generously supported by the Cicely and Colin Rigg Bequest, managed by Equity Trustees. The exhibition is FREE and on display from 12 October 2018 – 24 February 2019 at the Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia at Federation Square. Additional information is available from the NGV website: NGV.MELBOURNE

Download media release